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Bullet Points 
Gadgets Under My Skin 

By Owen K. C. Stephens 
 

 
 

 
This is our last look at gadgets (at least until a flood of new questions come in), with a set of 
questions about cybernetic gadgets from d20 Cyberspace. 

One area of questions that were too complex for simple answers regards VRNet software and 
gadgets. The rules as written have no provision to allow software to add gadgets, so you can't 
slap the improved defense gadget on an armor program to gain a better armor bonus to Defense 
for your avatar. However, using the gadget/flaw system as a baseline for rules to have more or 
less useful programs with higher or lower write DCs is a great idea. It's also outside the scope of 
Bullet Points articles or the gadget system as it exists. A GM who wishes to try this must decide 
on an ad hoc, my-campaign basis what benefits to allow and what program alteration DC and 
time modifiers are reasonable. 

 

 Can I use normal weapon and gear gadgets on cybernetics, or only cybernetic 
gadgets? 

As a general rule, you can use other gadgets that are appropriate (I'll go into some specific cases 
in the next few questions). You shouldn't use non-cybernetic versions of gadgets that have 
specific cybernetic rules (such as compact). You also shouldn't use non-cybernetic gadgets that 
do something similar to a cybernetic gadget. For example, because resilient increases a 
cybernetic's hardness and hit points, you shouldn't add the durable gadget to a cybernetic. 

You can use weapon gadgets on weapons placed within a cybernetic weapon mount or directly 
on a cybernetic weapon. You could, for example, add the electrified gadget to spurs. 

 

Can I have a sound-activated weapon as a cybernetic? 
The sound-activated gadget only applies to grenades, mines, and automated ranged weapons. No 
weapon you have as a cybernetic qualifies for automated, because it's not bipod-mounted, it's 
bicep-mounted. You could have a grenade as an integrated weapon and make it sound activated, 
but it just blows up (rather than being thrown somewhere, then blowing up). If you're looking for 
a suicide-bomb cybernetic that's fine. Otherwise I don't recommend it. 

 

 Can I use the plastic gadget on cybernetics? 

Sure, why not. 
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 Can I have voice-activated cybernetic weapons? 
Sure. 

 

 Can I use the increased weight or increased size flaws for cybernetics to make them 
cheaper but cause them to take up more space and have the opposite effect of 

ultralight composition? 
If, as the GM, you want to do that, it sounds like a fine and reasonable house rule. It's not the 
standard rule on how those flaws work, however, and a player shouldn't try to convince a GM to 
allow it if the GM is opposed. 

 

 When exactly does a booby trapped cybernetic go off? How often does it go off? Does 
it go off when you start to remove it, once you have it completely removed, when you 

start to implant it in someone else, or what? Does it attack the tools used on it or the person 
holding it? Does it just go off once or constantly? If it sets off a connected weapon that has 
an area effect (say, a flamethrower), is the owner of the cybernetic still immune to damage 
done? Can you disarm a booby trap, and if so, with what skill and at what DC? 
A cybernetic with the booby trap gadget goes off once it's no longer connected to its owner. It 
damages whatever is holding it, which may be a tool (especially if the person removing it is 
being cautious) or the person removing it (if he's being reckless). It goes off once a round as long 
as it is held or moved while not connected to its rightful owner. It never targets its owner, but if it 
has an area attack, the owner might be caught in the area. 

You can disable a booby trap with a Disable Device check. This counts as a complex device and 
requires 2d6 rounds. The DC to disable the booby trap is 30 or the purchase DC of the cybernetic 
with the booby trap, whichever is higher (more expensive cybernetics include more intricate 
connections). If you fail by 5 or more, you set off the booby trap (and thus you cannot take 20 on 
this check). 

 

 Do compact cybernetics count as fewer implants for purposes of avoiding negative 
levels? 

Assuming you're talking about the standard limit of no more cybernetics than your Con modifier 
+1, the compact gadget does you no good. This is because the Con +1 limit is for the number of 
implants you have, not the number of slots they take up. If you have a 12 Con and take three 
implants with slots of 0, you still take a negative level. 

You can, however, use the gadget system to get around this limitation if you have the wealth. By 
combining one or more cybernetic implants with the integrated cybernetic device gadget, they 
count as just one cybernetic. Even better, you can still use the compact gadget to reduce the size 
of the integrated cybernetic. 
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* Can you use the integrated cybernetic device gadget to add a non-cybernetic to a 
cybernetic implant? 

You shouldn't ever need to. Any non-cybernetic piece of equipment can be turned into an 
implant with the external tool mount or internal tool mount cybernetic devices. You then 
combine that cybernetic with whatever you want to add it to with the integrated cybernetic 
device gadget. 

If for some reason you have gear that can't be added to a tool mount cybernetic, then no, you 
can't combine it with the integrated cybernetic device gadget. That's likely to happen only with a 
GM ruling anyway. 

 

 Why is the cost of additional integrated cybernetics not dependant on the cost of the 
items being integrated? It makes no sense that an offensive kata computer with an 

integrated defensive kata computer has the same purchase DC as an offensive kata 
computer with a wireless neural network jack. 
Every purchase DC covers a range of actual prices. The higher the DC, the bigger that range. The 
process of integration is already so expensive that the difference between adding a cheap implant 
and adding an expensive one is negligible. That said, if you're unhappy with the pricing structure 
for your campaign, change it. Make the cost for each implant added 2, +1 for every 10 points in 
its purchase DC. 

Thus your double kata computer would have a purchase DC of 32 (28 base plus 5 for the 
integrated second computer -- 2 +3 for the 28 purchase DC), while the kata computer/wireless 
jack would be only DC 30. 

 

 Why can anything be compact, but only lower PL items be miniaturized? Shouldn't 
higher PL cybernetics be more easily miniaturized? 

Miniaturization represents replacing old technology options with new, smaller options (like 
replacing vacuum tubes with circuitry). Thus a PL 7 item in a PL 7 campaign is already using the 
best components available, but a PL 6 item in a PL 7 campaign can have some of its old 
technological components replaced with smaller, higher-tech components, making it smaller 
overall. 

 

 Is sensor baffling of a lower PL less effective against sensors of a higher PL? Is it 
more effective against lower-PL sensors? 

Yes. For every PL the sensors are higher than the baffling, decrease the DC adjustment by -5. 
For every PL the baffling is higher than the sensors, increase the DC adjustment by +5. 

 

 How obvious is a storage compartment gadget? 
Not very when it's closed, though it's always obvious when you add something to it or remove 
something from it. A Spot check won't pick one up, but a DC 15 Search check reveals its 
presence. 
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 If ultralight composition reduces you by 10%, with a minimum of 60%, doesn't that 
mean you have to have at least six slots of implants for it to work? 

No. The weight of the recipient has a minimum of 60% of its original weight. The maximum 
weight reduction is 40%. You can have this on one, two, three, or four slots of implants. 

  
 

 
 
 
 


